From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview for Linux vs Windows

I am developing an application for a client that is to be run on a commercial webserver. The hosting company uses Linux servers, and so there will be an additional cost in running the Labview run time engine and app on a windows server. I have never used LV for Linux before, so I have a few general questions.

What's it like? How does it look/feel? In general Linux apps look a bit less slick than windows ones. Is this the case with Labview? I noticed its system requirements are far more modest, so I am wondering what the differences are.

How seamlessly do applications written in LV for windows port to LV for Linux? Can I expect that a bug free application that runs smoothly in windows will run smoothly on the Linux machine?

I need to use the remote panel feature to host the front panel for operation remotely via a browser. Does this feature work well in Linux? The Linux screen resolution will probably be low as the server is headless, but I want the front panel resolution to be high. Will this be an issue?

Thanks

Message 1 of 7
(4,893 Views)

Aren't remote panels rendered by the user's machine (as opposed to the server?), in which case it will look identical to one produced by a Windows server. LabVIEW for Linux is as bug free as the Windows version- however there are some limitations on what addons are available, so you will need to investigate that if you are using more than the base package.

Your best bet is to contact NI and see if a rep can give you a demo/loan of a Linux version. Why NI don't offer a demo for download escapes me as Linux is becoming increasingly relevant.