LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview for FRC use in research project?

Solved!
Go to solution

One of our professors is interested in using Labview for FRC to
control several axes of motion using VEX motors and a RoboRIO in a telescope
aiming application. I'm curious about the politics involved.

Would it be usable under our Academic Research Site License? Or is this a blind alley?

I've been using Labview for projects large and small since 1992, but haven't
paid much attention to FRC.

Thanks,
BG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,884 Views)

You should be able to use your research license. Though I am not sure if some of the robotics libraries are licensed specifically under the FRC license. I have accessed FRC code when mentoring teams using my own license. I know the FRC license is necessary if you are using the FRC dashboard, which I don't think you will need.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?"
Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - Gordon Lightfoot
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(1,875 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author bill_gilbert

Mark, thanks for your response, but it looks at this point like the FRC environment is not a viable option for those not actually running or helping FRC teams.

The first time I called and said I wanted to talk to a sales engr about usability of FRC in research, the call screener deflected me, saying all support for FRC is via email at support@ni.com, which turns out to be a dead end, non-functioning email address.