From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabView .exe opens and closes excel before data can be written

Solved!
Go to solution

I am brand new to lab view and new to this forum as well. I am hoping my issue is an easy fix or work around.

When I click the icon to begin to run the portion of code that logs all my sensor data into excel, the program opens and closes excel rapidly. I run into an issue ONLY when I try to run the data logger from the .exe build. When testing everything in the .vi, the data logger runs exactly as it is supposed to. Excel opens, formats the fields appropriately, then when I click the button to turn off the data logger it saves the excel document in the appropriate place.

We have an older version of labview code that the data logger works perfectly fine from the .exe. When I copy this build profile but substitute the new .vi - I get the same excel error. When I use the exact same .vi and rebuild from the old project - I get the same excel error.

I am running lab view 14. Excel 2013 is installed on the machine.

Attached is the .vi I have been working on.

There is no antivirus stopping me, that I know of.

Please help. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,487 Views)

Dear lord that's a lot of parallel While loops.

I'm going to assume your problem is with this bit here:Capture.PNG

The two VIs on the end are in the NI library, but the 2 and the front and the one in the loop aren't.  You might need to show us those, but since the loop stops when an error occurs it's probably not an issue with those VIs.