LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabView and Python ... macOS edition

Hi,

I just installed LabView 2018 x64 bit (long time user) and Python 3.6 (total novice) on my Mac to streamline 2d curve fitting in LV.

I could make 2.7 version running, but 3.6 version still give 1663 error message.  Note that 2.7 version came with OS and is installed in /usr/bin directory while 3.6 was installed via macports and resides in /opt/local/bin (note that this directory is included in $PATH).  Is there a way to convince LV to scan this directory?

I have spent hours to make fitting routine work in 3.7 (and 3.6 ... I tried) so I really would like to make that version work with LV.

Any insight is appreciated.

Thanks,

Radek

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,974 Views)

What's the error message that comes with the 1663 error code?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,910 Views)

Hi,

The explanation of error 1663 states:

"LabVIEW: (Hex 0x67F) Unable to load the Python interpreter of the specified version. Ensure that you install the supported versions of Python, and the bitness of Python matches the bitness of LabVIEW that opens the Python session."

I do have Python 3.6 installed via macports and is therefore located in /opt/local/bin instead of /usr/bin.  In recent versions of Mac OS the /usr/bin is protected and practically un-writable even with sudo command.  I have tried creating links in /usr/local/bin, but no luck there either.  I have checked my $PATH variable and all directories are included.  I have also checked bitness of both LabView and Python and they match.

I suppose my really question is:

Is it possible to point LabView's python node to /opt/local/bin instead of /usr/bin?

Thank you,

Radek

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,904 Views)