cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW - VISA COM Device - How to use Hex protocol to receive Data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey everyone!

I am pretty new to LabVIEW and data collection, so this might be a pretty easy question.

I want to read the data from a Extech Instruments HD755 device, this is connected via USB to a COM Port.

I can see the device in MAX and I am able to open the VISA test panel.

I simply don't know what command I have to send now, neither I know how to search Google for this (I've tried several commands, but they didn't work).

I attached the Communication Protocol from Extech and my first try of a VI.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Tobias

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,028 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author PTobias

Can not open your vi, I am at lv2011

Communication protocol does not say which commands to send. If no other information, it is either trial and error, and/or ask manufacturer for example in any text language, it is easy to get order of commands if it is the problem.

I would try something like attached as a first test, may be you need to send several commands (0x04 then 0x01) before it starts transmitting

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,992 Views)
go to your max , check your port first then open test panel and check your comment
if anything is ok about your comment jump into labview visa port programming
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,983 Views)

It works, thanks so much!

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,943 Views)

Hi, just a note to everyone coming from Google - for the attached VI to work, do not use the VISA driver wizard to install the driver. Instead, install the USB to UART Bridge VCP driver - http://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers

Have fun automating!

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 8
(3,629 Views)