LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW VI scripting: finding out "new VI object" parameters

Hi

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW, so I hope you'll pardon me if this is a stupid question.

Problem background:
I have to interface with a .NET shared library. So far I can manually create VIs making calls in that library, it works, it's stable, I'm happy. But since that library is automatically generated  and contains many .Net classes that need interfacing , coding all matching VIs manually for is not an option. Hence my interest for VI scripting.

Problem:
I followed NI's VI scripting tutorial, it's quite fun but it only covers very basic stuff and  there a few a aspects i don't fully understand. How are we supposed to find out which parameter to feed to  "new VI object " ?  here is a example, if I want to create a "invoke node(.NET)" (from  Connectivity/.NET palette), what am I supposed to choose for "VI object class" and "object style" ?

Finding out "new VI object" parameterFinding out "new VI object" parameter

So far the closest thing to "invoke node (.NET)" I managed to create is  "Invoke node" from programming/application control palette.

help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,180 Views)

Hi,

the create new object function returns a reference to the new invoke node. You can use this reference to edit the invoke node using property and invoke nodes. Note that you will find the properties for invoke nodes only after using "to more specific class" on your new reference.

Regards

ʍolɟɐʇɐp ʞuıɥʇ
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(3,163 Views)

Actually, I don't need to create a new object, all my objects are automatically allocated within my shared library: I use a "invoke node (.NET)" VI to call a static method in the library that will return an object reference , then I use more "invoke node (.NET)"  VIs to interact with this object through that reference.