From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW Installation

I am new to LabView. A while back while I was reading on my own on electronic circuits, I downloaded NI-Elvis on my desktop as the textbook I was reading suggested. It did not work. Exploring more I found out that NI-Elvis driver depends on LabView. I am now enrolled in a Circuit Analysis course that uses the "Circuits" textbook by Ulaby, Maharbiz and Furse. I purchased the NA MyDAQ and LabView 18 Student Edition. The LabView installation guide states that LabView, the NI-DAQmx driver and the NI-ELVISmx driver should be installed in that order. My question is the following:

1. should I uninstall the NI-ElVISmx driver that is currently on my desktop and then install Labview 18, the NI-DAQmx driver and reinstall the NI-ELVISmx driver in that sequence, or

2. should I install LabView 18 and NI-DAQmx driver and then re-install NI-ELVISmx driver (which will update my installed driver).

I appreciate your response and thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,991 Views)

samir1,

I recommend you install the LabVIEW Development Environment first, and then both hardware drivers: DAQmx and ELVISmx. More information here: Installation Order for Multiple NI Software Products

All the best,

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(1,954 Views)

Having done hundreds of LabVIEW Installation (and re-Installations, the latest this week involving removing LabVIEW 2016, 2017, and 2018 and re-installing all three of them, a long story), here is my recommendation for your situation:

• You are starting with an "unknown" (presumably older) installation of some NI Software.