From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LVOOP Accessor vs. Property Node

Solved!
Go to solution

So I just passed my CLD and am trying to explore the world of LVOOP.  I'm a Mechanical Engineer with about 1.5 years of experience in LabVIEW, so I still have a ton to learn.

While browsing through LVOOP, I've run across some things I can't seem to reconcile. 

When is the proper time to create an Accessor method for a property of a class and when is the proper time to just use a Property Node to get or set a piece of class information?

Does child class data need to have the entire set of parent data instantiated in it plus its own?  Or does it just have its own data?  (i.e., if parent has Name and Value, does child need Name, Value, and Amount or just Amount?)

Can someone provide an example of using Composition as a class relationship?  I understand from the LVOOP training class that Composition is a "has-a" relationship, but I am still unsure what that actually means in the real world. 

Any help is appreciated.  Thanks Smiley Happy

--------------------------------------------------

Nathan - Certified LabVIEW Developer
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(5,853 Views)

Firstly, well done on passing your CLD.

Secondly, I'm no expert in OOP, but let me try to offer some help:

When is the proper time to create an Accessor method for a property of a class and when is the proper time to just use a Property Node to get or set a piece of class information?