cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keithley 24XX single read timing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am very new to Labview and am newly working with a Keithley 2400 source-meter in hopes of recording single resistance measurements of a product. I was able to use the Keithley 24XX Read Single example provided as a basis for creating this program. I'm curious specifically now in the timing of acquiring a single reading (as I want a resistance value after charging the very small capacitor involved where the source-meter is connected as well).

When and how is a single measurement acquired and recorded in the Keithley 24XX Read Single Labview example program?

Is it recorded for a period of time or number of counts after voltage is sourced? 

Are a certain number of measurements taken and filtered/averaged into a single reading? Or is it over a specific time period (for instance 1 second) that measurements are averaged? 

From the Keithley 2400 manual (attached), I've deduced that speed (specifically the number of power line cycles (NPLC)) and perhaps filters (specifically using a repeating filter with a designated filter count) could affect the timing  and value of the measurement. In Appendix A: Specifications  it then lists "Single Reading Operation Reading Rates (rdg./second)" and looking at the Source-Measure to GPIB column specifies for different speeds the number of reading per second that can be taken for each speed.   I'm just unsure what conclusions I can make from these parameters and how the Labview program uses them to determine what a single acquired measurement value is.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,100 Views)

You need to see what command is being sent by the VI you are using.

Then read the programmer manual to see what that command does.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,069 Views)