LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues with parallel execution - need some deeper insight

Hi folks,

I'm having an issue I'm fairly certain is related to the way parallel while loops execute, though I is possible it is something more basic that I'm somehow missing. I'm a physicist, not a Labview programmer by training, so while I consider myself pretty experienced there are a few holes in my overall understanding in places where I never went before.  This is probably one of them. I still sometimes get hung up on issues of Labview qua parallel programming.

BACKGROUND: I have multiple parallel while loops that collect serial data from separate VISA resources representing different sensors. Up until a week or so I had only a *single* data collection loop (state machine architecture) as all our sensors were multiplexed on a single serial line (new lines arrive at 10 Hz).  Everything executes fine with that. The current issues arose when I wanted to add some serial lines for different types of sensors that collect data at a slightly different rate - solution seemed obvious, use multiple parallel while loops so each line of data from each resource can be collected at its own rate. The asynchronous data are put together in the "main" while loop using local variable so that the most recent data from each resource is put together in a single array, and in sync with the main loop. While the main loop has a lot of analysis in it, this is the basic structure. As you can see I have use some vis here that handle the serial data.

Picture1.png