From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with NI 8451 CS lines all responding

Hi, im a newbie to labview and was hoping for some help as im using the SPI script examples to perform a write using the USB NI 8451 and am noticing regardless of which CS line is selected as a constant to be exercised during the write, that all remaining CS lines will also respond.  I was expecting the unused lines to be either held high, low or tristate.  

Im ultimately trying to perform writes using 4 different devices and need the unused CS lines to remain preferably high and cant tell how to configure this in the script.

Thanks for the help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(740 Views)

You didn't provide your code (pictures are useless -- VIs or nothing), you didn't provide a description of the circuit and chip(s) you were using.  I've used the 845x SPI devices when I was first learning about SPI.  As you probably know, CS means "Chip Select", and is asserted on the one Chip you wish to respond to the other SPI signals, SCLK, MOSI, and MISO.  In our case, we used other circuitry driven by an NI USB DIO module to enable us to route CS to the A/D chip.  We do that first, then use the other 845x commands to send the SPI signals that our A/D chip requires to configure it, to tell it to convert, and then by writing MOSI to it, we got it to MISO us back the sampled data.

I have no idea what you are doing, and cannot advise you how to fix it unless you provide more information.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(702 Views)