LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interfacing RS232 directly with computer

hello all....

I am a beginning beginner in Lab View  !

Started learning Laview using the videos available in Youtube's Labview Channel .

Some doubts i search here in this forum and got the answers too .

But i am not able to understand interfacing a device with computer..

In a video , the instructor says to connect a data acquition device with the computer..

http://www.youtube.com/user/Labview#p/c/10/ofzbA3keOYE

"My device sends a signal (voltage) and transmits through a RS232 port .

Is it possible to directly connect the RS232 to the computer without using NIDAQ devices ??

In the video , right click on back panel and  input -> DAQ assistant... i cannot get this option...using labview 2009 ... Should i use a DAQ device compulsory ... Will i not be able to correct directly and even if i connect how can i take the values from the port ?

what am i missing ?

kindly help

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(4,299 Views)

You will need some type of a device that will measure your voltage (meter, DAQ device, etc) and then that device will send a "message string" via RS232 telling you what it measured.

You can't connect your voltage directly to your RS232 port! You run a big risk blowing something up!

But does the device have an RS232 output? If so it is not covered by DAQmx drivers. You will need to read the manual for your device and most likly use SCIP commands via VISA drivers in LabVIEW.

Omar
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(4,298 Views)

Of course you can use RS-232 to communicate.  Look at the examples that ship with LabVIEW to get an idea how:

Help > Example Finder... Hardware IO > Serial.

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(4,295 Views)

defconD wrote:

"My device sends a signal (voltage) and transmits through a RS232 port .