LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incrementally increasing integers over a user-defined time period

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am a Labview noob with a bit of programming experience. Can anyone tell me how I can make a program that increments a user-defined value over a time period that the user also specifies, reaches the maximum value, and then decrements back to zero? For example, the program starts at 0, increments by a value of 1, waits 3s, then increments again, until it reaches a max value of 10. I've checked other posts here on related topics and ran this VI, but I do not know how to adapt it for my need. 

I am using Labview 2019 SP1

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(268 Views)

Hi Hobo,

@InfamousHobo wrote:

For example, the program starts at 0, increments by a value of 1, waits 3s, then increments again, until it reaches a max value of 10. I've checked other posts here on related topics and ran this VI, but I do not know how to adapt it for my need. 

All you need to change is the wait time in that VI from 500ms to 3s…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(253 Views)

Hi Gerd, thank you for the input. I did that, but the counter just switches from the base value, to the max value, then goes back to the base one. Ideally, if the base value is 0, I want to see the counter go 1,2,3,4,5...etc. until it reaches the max, then count back down. Is there a way to make that happen?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(247 Views)

I've tested the VI from your post and it is working fine.

Can you post your modify VI then we can have a look?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(212 Views)