LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In LabView 8.2, saving a standard report

I am new to versions above 6.1 and to reporting.

I am trying to find a way to save a report that is formatted, should not be editable once saved and that the filename and path are created programmatically.

In searching for ideas, I did find that I could print a Standard report to Virtual Printers like Microsoft XPS Document Writer. This would work except for the popup created to retrieve the filename and path which allows the user to select these.

I also found that previous versions of LabView could save a report as a Word document. When I tried to find this for 8.2, I couldn't. This would work except it wouldn't solve the problem of not being editable.

Does anyone have ideas for me? I don't have any code to show as so far I am still playing with the creation of the report itself.

KH @->---
The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function. F. Scott Fitzgerald
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,841 Views)

With the standard report generation functions in LabVIEW, you can generate a Standard report (sent to the printer) or an HTML report.  There is an add-on for LabVIEW called the Report Generation Toolkit which allows you to use the same report generation functions to generate Word and Excel reports as well.

I don't know of any special printer drivers that allow you to bypass the print dialog.

Good luck,
-D

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,831 Views)

I went and looked at the Report Generation Toolkit and it doesn't do what I am needing. It does allow the programmer to create a report for visualizing in Word but it doesn't save it FOR Word. It opens Word and allows the user to save from WITHIN Word.