From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Implement Complementary Filter from Text File

Hello,

I am a mechanical engineer student and I have just been introduced to LabView.

I am using an IMU (3-axis accelermoeter and 3-axis gyro) to eventually get position data.  

A program has already been written to calibrate, find gain and offset of the IMU for the myrio.  The accelerometer has also been converted to g's and gyro to deg/sec. Once the data is collected it is saved to a tab delimited text file.  Columns of: Time(s), Gyro_X, Gyro_Y, Gyro_Z, Acc_X, Acc_Y, and Acc_Z.  This is where my problem begins.

I need help in implementing the complementary filter in LabView to combine the gyro and accelerometer data across all three axis'.  I completely understand how the filter works just do not understand how LabView works yet.  I have been referencing the "mycomplementary filter" example here:  https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-22933 but it runs in real-time so my setup is a little different.

I have looked into the kalman filter but believe a complementray filter will work just fine.  Eventually I will be converting this filtered data to quaternions but that is for a later discussion.

Any help would be great!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,104 Views)

cseymour05,

Thank you for posting to the NI forums. What is your set up? What do you mean it runs in real time? You will take your data from the DAQmx Read.vi into the configure gyro.vi and configure accelerometer.vi, then you will take those outputs into the complimentary filter.vi and the output from there to the expression node as it is shown in this example.

Community: myComplementary Filter