LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How would this code look in LabVIEW?

Hello,

I am new to LabVIEW and I'm hoping that someone can tell me what the code would look like in LabVIEW if I want to do the following.....

I am using a C dll that has the "acq_get_board_count()" function and so far I am able to get that to work, however I'm having issues with passing the array of clusters from LabVIEW to the C dll

short count , code;

MyStruct_board_info *board_info_list;

count = acq_get_board_count();

if (count)

{

board_info_list = new MyStruct_board_info[count];

code = acq_get_board_info(count, board_info_list);

}

else

{

// no interface card installed

}

******************************************************************************* 

my C structure looks like the following:

struct MyStruct_board_info

{

char name[32]; 

short type;

char en_first_gain; 

long first_gain_min; 

char computer_ctrl;

char pad[3]; 

};

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,004 Views)

I am assuming that the prototype for your called function looks something like this:

short acq_get_board_info(short count, MyStruct_board_info * MSBI);

DLL interfacing is a little complex and is not an exact science.  Some playing around to get it right will be needed.  I am going to guess that you will need to define a cluster that has the same data types as your struct and the same sizes (add them to the cluster in the same order as the struct definition).  I think short's will be 16-bit ints, char's are 8-bit ints.  The array (char name[32]) you will have to pre-dimension for each element in the array of clusters so that the array memory exists.

To pass this to the dll, use flatten to string (numeric...data manipulation).  Convert the string to an array of bytes (string...conversion...string to byte array) and pass an array pointer to your dll.  Unflatten on the receiving end to get the results.

-cb

Message 2 of 9
(2,983 Views)