From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to transfer .text file data over serial port to my embedded device?

Hi All

I am new to labview VI programming.

I want to transfer the data of .text file using VI over the serial port using uart to my embedded device.

I attached the file which I want to transmit.

Please suggest me the possible solutions.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,486 Views)

If you want to transmit the contents of the file, then you can use LabVIEW's functions to open and read the file, and then transmit using appropriate VISA calls.
You might need to use some of the conversion nodes if those lines are binary 'numbers', rather than ASCII representations of hexadecimal (i.e. the letter 'A' is represented by the number 65 in an ASCII table, but the hexadecimal value A is represented by 10 as a decimal value). See, for example, https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Convert-Hexadecimal-String-to-Byte-Array/td-p/3009131/page/2

If on the other hand you want to copy the file into some embedded device (in the style of, for example, FTP) then you're dependent on the embedded device's capabilities. If this is the case, please let us know some more about the device - does it have any tools/APIs to transfer/store files, or to save the contents of a stream of communication to disk, etc?

GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,466 Views)

Actually I am using MSP430 microcontroller as a embedded device. So I have made a GUI from which I wanted to transfer .text file to my controller.

So the file data will store into flash memory.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,378 Views)

@Madhav241296 wrote: