LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to store/write received IQ data

Hello EveryOne,

I am working on Channel Sounding Techniques for which I am using USRP as a receiver. I want to store my receive IQ data for post processing in order to find the channel impulse responce but I am new in the field of USRP & LabVIEW so is theer any one who can help me that how can I store the received data into hard-disk and how to retrieve it for post-processing via LabVIEW. The receiver .vi file is attached and thanks in advance...

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,414 Views)

Hello Attique,

Writing the data is a little tricky because you want to stream a complex waveform. As far as I know there is no premade solution for this, however

it is fairly easy to implement it using the write to binary file functions. The timing information is only written to the file on the first call, in every succeeding call

only the waveform data is written. For reading you just have to know that the first few bytes in the file are a timestamp, the next position is a double (delta t), and

the remaining data is complex double values. I modified your code to implement this functionality. I did not have the chance to test the code because I do not

have the right hardware, so please be careful and test the code before using it.

Regards,

Georg

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,340 Views)

Hello Georg,

Many thanks, its a great help from your side. I used those codes via my hardware and found them okay but as you mentioned in your reply " first few bytes in the file are a timestamp, the next position is a double (delta t), and

the remaining data is complex double values" so whatever I got at the end from "Y" terminal (in read binary.vi) is basically my receive complex data, isn't it? Secondly I found a way to store the data in .tdms file as well. So what do you prefer to store my received complex data as; .tdms or .bin file?

Kind Regards

0 Kudos