LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to speed up for loop

I am new to LabView programming.  I created a very simple VI to toggle one digital line in a for loop as input to a stepper motor driver.  I am using the myDAQ USB module to run this VI.  I set the loop to execute 1000 times.  It currently takes about 6.5 seconds to complete this for loop or about 6.5 ms per iteration.  Attached is the VI.  

Am I missing something big here?  The for loop is very simple but is running very slowly.  I was looking to toggle the digital output at a rate as low as 0.1 ms so I am way off.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,341 Views)

Next time please attach the VI file itself but not the image. We cannot debug an image.

It takes some time for the host PC to send USB packets to the device and wait for the response. Thus, 6.5ms per iteration is reasonable for a USB-based device. This is the limitation of software-timed tasks.

You should use hardware timing. There are two ways:

1. Use the Analog Output. myDAQ supports update rate of 200kS/s. See shipping example <LabVIEW>\examples\DAQmx\Analog Output\Voltage - Finite Output.vi

2. Use the counter to generate a sample clock for the digital task. I am not sure if this is supported in myDAQ but worth a try. See How To Use Counters To Generate a Sample Clock For a DAQmx Digital I/O Task

In both cases, the limitation of about 5ms per DAQmx VI call is still applied. If you are going to send at 0.1ms or 10kHz, make sure you write multiple data points per DAQmx Write VI call. For example, you can send 100 data points per DAQmx Write VI every 10ms.

-------------------------------------------------------
Control Lead | Intelline Inc
Message 2 of 10
(1,328 Views)

You can embed images directly, no need for PDFs.