From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to link SQL server to Labview with Database Toolkit

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm a newbie of database but I have to use MS SQL server (2008) to hold my data. I'm fully equipped with all Labview functions, just don't know how to use it properly. I have full development suite, including database toolkit. My current labview version is 8.6.1. On the hardware side, I have cFP2220 and many modules of differnet kind.

Here's some useful link I found from the web:

1. I got the database creation procedure (pdf file) to establish the udl link.

http://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-4602 

It gives step-by-step procedure of getting connection to MS Access, and I'm able to record data to MS Access with the database toolkit. However, I couldn't figure out how to establish a udl or connection string to SQL server. In other words, I hope someone can explain in details what's the procedure to setup such a link.

2. I learned from the forum that there's a LabSQL, but it needs some knowledge of SQL statement. I would walk away from it as I'm not familar with SQL. 

3. The VI I used to record data to DB is very similiar to "Create Database Table.vi" found from the example.

To make it short, I think I just need someone who has experience with SQL server connection with Labview to show me the steps to create a link to SQL.

Many thanks, 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(45,800 Views)

Hello,

Have you looked at the NI Example Finder under "Toolkits and Modules >> Database Connectivity?"  There are a few examples there.  Also check out this community example

Message 2 of 23
(45,766 Views)

holyna wrote: