cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to generate and read current signals using DAQ modules

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am very new to NI modules and LabVIEW and currently struggling on a fairly simple problem.

Before I dive into the actual project, I wanted to use a current output module (NI 9265) and voltage input module (NI 9201) to generate and read signals in real time (continuously).

To generate voltage signals for the voltage input module, I've setup a very simple circuit with a 100 ohm resistor, so that if I generate 0.01A of current, the voltage module should read 1V.

As I have only been instructed to use 'DAQ Assistant' for using the modules, the best I was able to do was as below.

gathanokos_0-1679519718056.png

The problem is that even if I change the control value from 0.01 to something like 0.02, the indicator stays at the same value (1V).

Only when I stop it and run it again, it changes to 2V. I have confirmed this by running it continuously, and stopping it every time I change the control value, then the indicator changes.

gathanokos_1-1679519974354.png

However, this is not how it should work, where what I want is the value to change without manually stopping the continuous run (hopefully I wouldn't have to run the whole model continuously, only run it once and let the while loop do the work). 

I was wondering if this had something to do with how the NI 9265 assistant was set. So I went into the properties and deselected "use waveform timing" to match the samples to read and rate as same as the NI 9201 assistant.

gathanokos_2-1679520041640.png

However, doing this caused an error as shown below.

gathanokos_3-1679520118346.png

I am too new to this to even understand what the problem is and resolve the issue.

I would really appreciate some help.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,501 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author gathanokos