From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to format data for I2C basic write?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Friends,

It is my first time to use USB 8451, a I2C device. I am just playing around to write data to a slave I2C device using the  I2C basic write vi, which is found in program samples and attached here below. 

I would like to write a hexadecimal value of "2801" to a register (address is "1A") of the slave I2C device (device address is "2A"). The write sequence shown in the device datasheet is as below. Can someone let me know how to combine address "1A" and data "2801" together for inputting in the front panel's EEPROM data address?

edmonton_0-1610165439719.png

edmonton_1-1610165883946.png

There is a note in block diagram, I paste it here below, but I do not know how to make it work 

----------------------------------------------

The format for many EEPROMs is:
a) The first two bytes or the first byte are the address to write to.
Check the correct endianess for your device to sent in big endian format (MSB first) or little endian format (LSB first).
b) The next x bytes sent to the device are the bytes that are to written to the EEPROM. For this example, we are creating an array of x sequential bytes (0, 1, ...) up to the number of bytes to write. Many EEPROMs, when they exceed the page size will simply begin to
write at the beginning of the page boundary, thus the write must be split into page aligned writes.

-------------------

Thanks,

Gu

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,479 Views)