From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a 1D array?

I am new to LabVIEW.

How can I create a one-dimensional double-integer in the VI front panel?

I know to use Modern Control, then choose Array. But how to I set the row (or column size)? And also the data type?

Thanks..

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(25,319 Views)

Hi splee,

insert a numeric control into the array control. Then resize the array control as needed...

Seems pretty basic, so I recommend to read this!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 4
(25,316 Views)

@splee wrote:

I am new to LabVIEW.

How can I create a one-dimensional double-integer in the VI front panel?

I know to use Modern Control, then choose Array. But how to I set the row (or column size)? And also the data type?

Thanks..

Row or Column size?  Your asking about a 1D array of double type.  You don't deal with rows or columns unless you use multi-dimentional arrays.  To set the number of elements for a 1D array, use the Initialize Array function.  The data type is set by the numeric control that you drop into the 1D array on the fp (default is double).  I would recommend reading some of the basic tutorials given above.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reese, (former CLAD, future CLD)

Some people call me the Space Cowboy!
Some call me the gangster of love.
Some people call me MoReese!
...I'm right here baby, right here, right here, right here at home
Message 3 of 4
(25,285 Views)

You drop an array container on the front panel, then place a modern numeric scalar inside it.