cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to correctly use LabView with Kvaser hardware

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I have been using the Kvaser BlackBird v2 for a while now, and i can easily connect it to my PC and being able to interact via CAN with a Texas Instruments F28379D that I am programming, using the software Kvaser CanKing.

I recently found out that it is possible to use the Kvaser hardware with LabView, but I am new to LabView and I need some help to get started.

I followed the instructions I found at https://www.kvaser.com/knowledge-base/how-to-install-labview-drivers/ :

I installed the Kvaser Driver for Windows and the firmware updates.

Then i downloaded the Kvaser CANlib SDK and installed it.

Then i downloaded the Kvaser LabView VI Library for CAN, it is a folder with a kvCanVI.llb file.

If i try to open it and then select kvCanExample1.vi i get this list of errors.

I think it has something to do with the canlib32.dll not being found but as I said, I am a beginner with LabVie, it's my first time using it and i have absolutely no idea on how to proceedkver.PNG

What I would like to accomplish is using the BlackBird v2 to sniff the messages in the CAN bus and using LabView as some sort of monitor to see the message.
For example, in the BUS the F28379D board sends a message and i would like to use the data to updates some graph according to the message ID.

I hope i was clear enough, thankyou in advance for your help.

- Alessandro Fano

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,008 Views)

A couple of quick questions:

Which version of LabView are you using?

Are you using the latest Kvaser Labview VI wrappers from the Kvaser website?

Which version of kvcanlib.llb are you using?

Which version of the Kvaser driver for Windows did you install?

- Troy

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,945 Views)

I'm using LabView 20.0f1 (64-bit)
I'm using the 2016 v19.3.0 Kvaser LabView VI Library
I'm using 2016 version of kvCanVI.llb