From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to control a LabVIEW VI remotely using Visual Basic

I'm new to labVIEW.  I was given the task of controlling a labVIEW VI remotely using Visual Basic and the tcp/ip protocol.  I searched the forum for examples, but didn't come across any.  I would like to know:
1.  I've seen the mentioning of remote panel.  Do I need one on the machine where VB is running in order to communicate with the VI on the remote machine?
2. How to make remote calls from within Visual basic?

An example will be the most helpful.  Many thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,921 Views)
Take a look here , here , and here

Maybe those can shed some light on the topic.. I know they helped me.

EDIT: Just relized you said "control remotely"... well... i hope those links can still help. Although Im sure youve run across them already.

Message Edited by MJBrehm on 09-06-2006 03:06 PM

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,914 Views)

Hi uits,

Here's a link that demonstrates a LabVIEW program as an ActiveX server - called from a VB client.  I think with a little work you can move the VB client to a different "remote" machine. Smiley Happy  I don't know if LabVIEW's dot-NET tools provide a similar interface.  Of course you could always brute-force remote-control from VB through a TCP/IP connection to a LabVIEW program (setting up your own messaging.)

Cheers!

"Inside every large program is a small program struggling to get out." (attributed to Tony Hoare)
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,894 Views)
Hello tbd,