LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change properties at design time?

Hello ,

I am new to Lab View and want to ask a thing that I couldn't find help for:

I placed a slide control onto my VI and now want to change the look of it. I found out how to do it programatically, but

- it seems to be quite a lot of drawing to change several properties this way

-I want to change them at design time and keep the changes permanently

I found the properties window of the control and the things I can do there, but I feel there are many more properties like for example

- the hight of the numerical value display

- the background color and frame look of the numeric value display

- the fonts and alingments

- the exact positions or alignments ot the label, caption and numeric value displays

- and others

I think it is similar with other controls, so my question is how  I can access these properties at design time?

Thanks a lot

Martin

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,096 Views)

Hi Martin,

you can use all the tools available in the front panel at edit time: brush, pointer, hand, right-click menu with properties…

And you can create control typedefs to store your changes for later re-use!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,078 Views)

I was annoyed by that same limitation, so I created the attached code.

WARNING: THE ATTACHED CODE IS DANGEROUS!  IT CAN CAUSE LABVIEW TO CRASH!  WORSE YET, IT CAN PUT LABVIEW IN AN UNSTABLE STATE, CAUSING IT TO CRASH LATER.  USE IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!

However I haven't known it to cause problems when accessing ordinary properties.

Place the .llb in C:\Program Files *\National Instruments\LabVIEW *\project\