LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does the operating system manage labview vi's

Background:

I am using compact field points and low end compact rio's for my projects and I am approaching the RAM limits of my devices.

I am looking to modify my coding practices to minimize RAM usage.

I follow the "Labview 101" do's and don't for optimised code but I need more information about how the VI's are handled in memory.

My background is in embedded C coding where when a function is called the code is run from ROM and uses memory from the stack, releasing it on completion.

My observations (best quess) from my cFP application is that all vi's are unpacked (decompressed) into RAM (takes 5-10 minutes) and executed is from there.  Each .VI keeps it's memory.

My application uses quite a lot of code reading configurations at the start, never to be used again.  I am speculating that this resides in RAM until the end of time.

If this is the case, is there a method to release the unwanted VI from memory.

To minimise RAM usage I tend to use In Place structures and wire data in and out of VI's using it.

Attached code snippet show data from an object being passed through a sub .VI.

Efficient Coding.png

I want to be sure that additional RAM isn't being used here,  If so I will need to do the manipulation directly to the object.

iTm - Senior Systems Engineer
uses: LABVIEW 2012 SP1 x86 on Windows 7 x64. cFP, cRIO, PXI-RT
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,017 Views)

I think if you use Close VI to close the refference to the configuration file, the memory should be free from then on.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,977 Views)

Was more interested in the the rest of the vi's memory and code.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(2,951 Views)