LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you write a table to a file when you push a button in Labview 8.5

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to LabVIEW so I do not know if this is hard or not or can even be done. I have data that I am colleting and storing it into a table in LabVIEW but I want to be able to take the entire table of data and write it to a file, text or excel. Another part I would like is to have it be done when a user presses a button, in case they messed up. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,041 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author dpkiley

That's not hard to do. If you have a main loop that's continuously collecting data then you can just wire up the Boolean control to a case structure so when the button is true you write to file. Is this supposed to be a one-shot operation, or is more of a toggle (meaning you log while the button is true)? You can also use an event structure. See the "New Event Handler" example that ships with LabVIEW (Help -> Find Examples).

Message 2 of 7
(4,036 Views)

I would like it to be just a one shot thing but I cannot get the data in the table to write I can just do the data as it collects but thats not what my team wants.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,033 Views)

How are you populating the table? Are you using a table indicator? Are you accumulating the data in a shift register or a Feedback Node? Or, are you using the Build Table Express VI (which internally uses a shift register). If so, whatever you're writing to the table is the same that you'd write to file. Can you post your VI?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(4,025 Views)