From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can we link Java Code with LabView

Can any body guide me that how can we link Java Code with LabView.
Message 1 of 15
(31,141 Views)
Anderomeda,
I have no experience how to do it, but propably the following KB will help you a little bit.

BR,
ThSa
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(31,140 Views)
Having spent many years developing in Java, my main complaint is how little effort has been put in to integrate with the platforms it runs on. However, as ThSa pointed out, JNI is the recommended way to talk from Java to non-Java code in the same process. Let me give you the summary of ways that I know of.

1. LabVIEW calling Java routines "in process"

Two ways to do this. One is to build a DLL that hosts the JVM and uses the JNI interface to call Java methods. The second is to convert the .class or .jar files into .NET and use the LabVIEW support for .NET. For the second case, look for stuff like this - I've not used it, but it was pointed out to me before.

2. LabVIEW calling Java routines "out of process"

The best solution here is Web Services. Java now supports building a web service that can be hosted in many different web servers. LabVIEW 8.20 for Windows now has an automatic importer for Web Services...so that makes this pretty easy. You could also use things like JSP/Servlets and simple URL commands.

Outside of that, its back to the standard "open a TCP/IP socket and create your own protocol for communication".

3. Java calling LabVIEW "in process"

Back to JNI. Build your LV code into a DLL and use JNI to call it.

4. Java calling LabVIEW "out of process"