LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I create sub-arrays based on the positions of indicies in a separate index array?

Solved!
Go to solution

Please forgive me if this question is basic or obvious. I am fairly new to LabVIEW and I'm trying to learn as I go along.

I have a 1D array of index values (the number of possible index values is not fixed, but can vary between uses of the application; it could be just {0, 1} on one day and {1, 5, 11, 678} on another) and a 1D array of measurement values (doubles). I'd like to parse the measurement values into sub-arrays for each index, so that if my index array was:

[0 1 1 1 1 5 5 0 5 5 1 0 1 1 5]

and my measurement array was:

[0.1 0.2 0.3 0.4 0.5 0.6 0.7 0.8 0.9 0.10 0.11 0.12 0.13 0.14 0.15]

I would get back 3 sub-arrays:

[0.1 0.8 0.12]

[0.2 0.3 0.4 0.5 0.11 0.13 0.14]

[0.6 0.7 0.9 0.10 0.15]

I know there must be a simple way to do this, I guess I'm just stuck too much in matlab-array thinking to figure it out... please help!

-- jph

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,168 Views)
Do you want the elements within each group in a specific order?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,163 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jamespherman

One problem is that your subsets are not of equal lenght and you also don't know the number of subsets beforehand, so you need to decide on a suitable output structure. I would suggest an array of clusters, each element containing the subset and possibly the tag.

Here's a very quick example (LabVIEW 8.0). See if it makes sense. Please verify correct operation. There could be bugs, but the concept should be clear.

Message 3 of 8
(3,145 Views)

SO GOOD!

I really don't know enough about data types in LabVIEW. Thank you so much.