LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with lag in program

This is my first time posting and I am new to LabVIEW. I took the NI Basic and Intermediate courses and now I am the "expert" at work. When I run my program, the plots are fine but when I start writing to a file there is a lot of lag on the plots. I do not know what the 'actual' problem is and what I should do to fix it.

I created a program to read 12 Analog Voltage inputs and plot them and also write to file.

I am using LabVIEW 11, 32-bit on Windows XP

DAQ Hardware:  0-10Volt signals from pressure transducers   ->  NI 9205  ->  NIcDAQ-9174 

Thanks,

Chris

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,011 Views)

Did you write this after taking the courses? You should put the logging in a separate loop from you data acquisition using a producer consumer type architecture.

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(2,985 Views)

I started writing the program before I took any courses. This is only a program that will be used for a week and then discarded so I did not worry about making it "deliverable". I am just trying to get it to work. I could rewrite it to a producer / consumer architecture but I do not know them well and I was hoping for more of a patchwork answer. If there are none then I will begin figuring out the producer/consumer structures.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(2,978 Views)

Well,  Thats some unusual code there Chris!

Prompts inside a data acquisition loop will allways look like lag since the acquisition is not stopped while the prompt is up you just stop reading them out of the devices buffer.  When the prompt is down you statr reading the first sample in the buffer that was taken about the same time the prompt was raised.