LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Event Structure

Hi,

I am trying to make a VI which is able to load a txt file for multiple VXM controllers then run the controllers simultaneously or one at a time depending on if the active button for the controller is clicked.  I have copied and pasted the same while loop seven times for each controller.  I am wondering if there is a limit on the amount of times I can run the controllers as I press on and off the activate button.  Additionally, I would really appreciate if someone could critique my code and see if there is a way for me to simplify / improve my current VI because I am still learning LabView.  I attached my VI and the driver for the controller below.  Thank you for any help you can provide.  

- Reese 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,938 Views)

Hi reese,

Especially if you might have more controllers in future, I'd suggest redesigning this so you don't need to copy and paste your module.

What you need is something that can run asynchronously and carry out some processes.

In the current diagram, that appears to be mostly the same for each controller (although note that your first loop has a True at the end, and your second has a False). If these should be the same, this is one good reason to avoid copy-pasting - code changes aren't propagated between different "modules".

You could instead look at creating a single VI that carries out the steps you need (0-5 in your Stacked Sequence Structure, for example - perhaps without the SSS but with dataflow used to sequence appropriately (might require some Flat Sequence Structures if you don't have e.g. 2017's "Stall Data Flow.vim", or a similar VI) and then launching clones of that VI for each module when "Active" is set true.