LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help : generate digital serial data

Hello. I am new with NI (few days). attached is my colleague previous work. The program is to test a device by giving PARALLEL digital input. What should I modify, so that, I can generate SERIAL digital input instead? My hardware is PXI 6534. and I am using LabView 7.1 Please help... thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,282 Views)
Hi!
   I've taken a look to your colleague's code.... I just can say that it doesn't follow good LabView programming practices, so, if you're learning LabView, I strongly suggest to NOT look at that code, and start your own.  You can look at Digital generation examples, provided with LabView, and adapt them to your hardware. 

Just an example: on the top left hand corner of block diagram, you have the creation and clear of three DAQmx tasks.  According to dataflow principle, nobody tells you when this code will be executed, if before or after the other code.  Is this desired behavior?

Next: You start DAQmx Task, and suddenly clear it.... not good, I suppose (but I'm not sure, since it's been a long time I don't work with DAQmx.... now I'm deeping in PACs...)

Next:  I strongly suggest not to use stacked sequence structure.  If unavoidable, use flat sequence structure.

Of course, this is my point of view...... Smiley Happy

Have a nice day!

graziano
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,277 Views)

Hi Seicento,