LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Needed

We are currently using LabVIEW 2017 SP1 as our sole data acquisitioning software for articles under test (diesel engines) in one of our test cells.

Last week it was brought to my attention that the software had stopped converting .TDMS files into readable Excel format. Upon investigation I concluded that 3 of the VI’s responsible for merging channel data into .TDMS and then converting it into Excel format had lost needed library memory and or file paths had been lost/corrupted. What to do from here is unknown territory for me as I have no experience with LabVIEW.

The affected VI’s are as follows: Convert TDMS to XLS.vi / Merge TDMS(SubVI).vi / Main_802.vi

error code 97 unknown system error a null or previously deleted refnum was passed in as an input.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(1,229 Views)

Those sound like custom VIs, or ones from an Add-in, that you'll need to attach.

Zip them with  some example TDMS files they are supposed to operate on.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(1,223 Views)

Hello MrBimble,

why are you converting the TMDS file to a XLS file in the first place? There is a Excel Add-In for reading TDMS files with Excel:

https://www.ni.com/de-de/support/downloads/tools-network/download.tdm-excel-add-in-for-microsoft-exc...

When you are not working with the XLS-File in your program maybe you can replace/delete these "broken" VIs and only use the native TDMS-VIs inside of LabVIEW to write the channel data to the TDMS-File.

Heinz

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(1,176 Views)

Hi Bimple,

@MrBimple wrote:

The affected VI’s are as follows: Convert TDMS to XLS.vi / Merge TDMS(SubVI).vi / Main_802.vi

Can you attach those VIs?

Other topic: has there been an update to Windows or Office on those computer(s)? Office updates can also influence the operation of (LabVIEW RGT) functions which are used to remotely control MSOffice tools…

Best regards,
GerdW