LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has anyone called the Solver dll in Labview?

I have developed a non-linear mathematical model in Excel that uses it's Solver routine. I am currently trying to convert this over into the Labview environment because the equations are more manageable and the front panel interface is more marketable. However, I need the power of the Solver dll.

Frontline Systems (www.solver.com) provides an evaluation version of the dll but I am new to this and I was wondering if anyone has done it and could provide a VI which calls this dll or has any suggestions, please?

I think it would be pretty nifty if Labview could provide this sort of optimisation power. (It's current optimisation routines in the Mathematics toolbox are pretty limited and are not nearly as powerful as Solver)
. But I'm sure a labview guru could configure a simple VI which calls the Solver dll for a multi-dimensional non-linear problems similar to Excel....

Many thanks in anticipation!!!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,197 Views)
Hello �

You might want to consider using a Call Library Function Node. This node supports a large number of data types and calling conventions. You can use it to call functions in most standard and custom-made DLLs and shared libraries.

Refer to the Configuring the Call Library Function Node section of Chapter 2, Shared Libraries (DLLs), of the Using External Code in LabVIEW manual (attached) for more information about using the Call Library Node to call code from text-based programming languages.

Hope this helps!

S Vences
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,195 Views)
Hello,

I have used the activeX Excel automation class reference to invoke the solver from LabView.