LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphing Frequency and Time of a Waveform

Hello all,

Just wanting to know if there is a way to graph frequency on the y-axis and time on the x-axis of a waveform subset 2 second subset to be exact). I'd like to be able to see the frequency change over time with the y-axis ranging from 0 to whichever the highest read frequency is, in Hz. 

Thanks for any help! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(2,505 Views)

Hi aj,

so you need something like a spectrogram?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 16
(2,498 Views)

Thanks for the reply Gerd, I read up on spectral measurements tried the express VI and it seems close to what I'm looking for but not quite. 

Let me digress, I'm no electrical engineer, but I'm interested in music and lightshows so that's what I'm researching. Though, LabView has been eating me up lately.

As a small part of a project I'm doing, I'm trying to recreate a BPM engine, where I load a song's waveform into LabVIEW and then I get the BPM of that song. I found a group a short report by a group of students that did this on MatLab so I've been trying to model this after their work. I'm having trouble making the cross-over but it's got to be possible on LabVIEW. 

Report of MATLAB BPM engine: https://www.clear.rice.edu/elec301/Projects01/beat_sync/beatalgo.html

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(2,459 Views)

For what you are trying to do (create a BPM machine), a spectrogram might not be (quite) what you want.  I should say that I'm not an engineer, either, but I also would not use the algorithm in the Matlab reference you cite.  Particularly if the music has an obvious beat, much simpler (and far faster) algorithms suggest themselves (but what do I know?).