cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating custom analogical signal synchronize with an external trigger

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm trying to generate an oscillating voltage of custom shape. Furthermore, I would like that signal to be synchronize with a 100kHz square wave signal. I want my custom signal to repeat itself each time I receive, let's say, 500 triggers from my square signal.

I'm kinda new with labview. I did that small demonstration and generated a custom sinus signal but it only generates predetermined signal shapes.

http://www.ni.com/academic/students/learn-daq/generate/

Obviously they are many ways to do this but what would be the most efficient way to do it? Which functions should I look into to achieve that?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,594 Views)

1. A great source of examples can be found right in the LabVIEW environment.  From the menu choose "Help-->Find Examples...-->Hardware Input and Output-->DAQmx-->Analog Output"

2. Choose the example for "Voltage - Continuous Output".

3. To avoid changing the built-in example, immediately go to the menu and choose "File-->Save As...".   Choose the option to Copy and to "Substitute copy for original" (a safe option thought it may not sound like it), then save it to your favorite local folder such as your Desktop.

4. This is a *starting* point.  There's still some stuff for you to do.  But most of the guts are here to learn from while you make a few small modifications.   Remaining items:

- configure the 'Sample Clock Source' to be a PFI pin that you wire your 100 kHz signal to

- create your own array of 500 samples that you want to keep regenerating.  The task is already set to be "Continuous" so it will keep repeatedly re-cycling through whatever samples you write to the task.