From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flow meter code help

Hey guys. So i'm a bit new to using labview and could really use some help fixing my code. So we are trying to get a working code for reading flow rate from a turbine flow meter, that sends pulses. we measured the approximate amount of pulses per second and came up with a k factor of 6.2 for 5 g/min ( this was baseline flow rate for testing). so the count the pulses per second, converts to min and divides by the k factor to give flow readings. An interesting problem that came out of this was that  when we had 5 g/min going through the meter our code was showing, 5 g/min. However, when we increased flow rate to about 7 g/min, the code continued to show 5 g/min. I'm pretty sure this had to do with the fact that all our testing was done according the 5 g/min. but even when we ran 7 g/min, we were counting the same number of pulses in 1 minute, but a different k factor ( because we're dividing pulses/min by 7 now). I don't really know how to account for this in the code. it only seems to work when we put in the unique k factor for that flow rate in the code, but we need to see it change according to varying flow rate. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. I have attached a picture of the code.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,789 Views)

It sounds like you are basing your code on the assumption that pulses/sec correlates directly with flow rate because of a single measured value.  Is this actually the case?  Check the manual for your flow meter.  Is the intended dependence truly pulses/sec? pulse amplitude? pulse width?  What are the upper and lower operating limits of the flow meter.