LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA Quadrature Generation for VeriStand

Hey all,

I have created this snippet of code to see what you might think of it.  I am unable to test it for the next week as the hardware is temporarily unavailable to me. I am pretty new to FPGA and very new to VeriStand, but I think this should work to create a Quadrature output.  I want to keep making progress so I'm just asking for anyone's opinion/thoughts about whether or not it should work.

Measuring the timing is most of my concern.  And do I need to worry about overflow with the timers?  I'm not 100% sure how these timers work. Do they just count indefinitely upwards?  And if that's the case, what is the best way to handle an overflow in this situation?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,190 Views)

Hello,

I'm not sure if that is very useful in your case but have you considered using the Square Wave Generator function?

Also I'm not sure do you want the signal to have a certain period/frequency? Do you have while loop around the code? Is it maybe worth using a SCTL so you have a defined frequency?

The signal will be a PWM signal?

I think you should maybe take a look at the Square Wave Generator..

LabVIEW 2012 32 bit

I am not an expert!
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,175 Views)

NOTE:  Before responding to the previous post... I noticed that I divided the period by 2 instead of 4.  Dividing by 2 would have given me a 180 degree phase difference rather than the 90 degrees that quadrature uses so I have changed that in my code to divide by 4 (it is NOT reflected in the snippet with the original post).