LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA - Issue with calculating analog output.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a relative beginner with LabVIEW programming and using FPGAs. I have taken over a previous students project that uses a cRio FPGA to calculate the analog voltage output to a torque controlled motor to make it mimic a single degree of freedom rotational system. I have attached an image of the while loop used to find this voltage based on the position, velocity and acceleration of the motor. These are also calculated on the FPGA from the motor encoder output. This basic loop as no issue and is working as expected by calculating the correct output and sending it to the motor driver.

Working loop to calculate outputWorking loop to calculate output

However do to mechanical torque bias of the motor I have developed a method that is used to correct the analog output via addition of a 3rd order function of position. However when I try to implement this 2nd script by changing the select control variable the FPGA no longer outputs a signal to the amplifier even when the polynomial coefficients (C0, C1, ... etc.) are set to zero.

Loop with empirical correction, failing to output signal.Loop with empirical correction, failing to output signal.

The only differences between these scripts I see is the multiplication and addition of constants that I am setting at the top level VI and sending to the FPGA. I am uncertain if I have used some unsupported functions on FPGAs such as (x^2). The modifications seem minimal but result in a failure to output anything. If I can supply any more information let me know, all ideas or guidance are appreciated!

Note: Still using LabVIEW 2014 with the NI - cRio 9063 and outputting the signal through a NI 9263 module.

Best,

Hunter

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,774 Views)

Hi Hunter,