LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FFT, How do I control the frequency domain?

Hello!

There are 3 items in my zip file, an XML, a VI, and a picture. Drop the XML onto your C:\  drive. The XML contains sinusoidal sample data. The operating frequency of the device under test is 5 MHz.  The samples were collected using a sample rate of 100MHz. I want to run an FFT on the sample data to examine its composition from 0-10 MHz. The picture shows an existing FFT with a frequency domain of 0-10 MHz. The y-axis is in decibels. 

How do I control the input values of the frequency domain which are used to produce FFT output values? How do I modify my existing VI to output in the same format as the picture?

I am a novice LabVIEW developer with just a month of experience. I am so very thankful for your assistance!   - John

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(2,694 Views)

Hi JDu4,

do you mind to attach your ZIP file?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(2,651 Views)

Zip attached. -  John

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(2,641 Views)

Hi John,

the FFT result in your VI essentially looks the same - as soon as you set the same X and Y scales:

check.png

(As you should know the exact sampling frequency you don't need to guess like me using that frequency control…)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 4 of 14
(2,635 Views)