From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting LabVIEW vi output into C++

Hello all,

I am very new to LabVIEW programming. But, I have an old DC Source/Monitor unit , HP4141B with the different .vi files for all the functions this power source is capable of performing. 

I am interested in exporting these LabVIEW files as a dll and using them in a Visual C++ program. I was able to create dll files but I am not sure how to get data back from LabVIEW to be used in my C++ program.

For example, my labview code spits out information as 'errorOut' (this is the name of the variable in the VI output of the define VI prototype dialog box). I am wondering how to get this data back into C++ so it can be used?

In short, I am able to pass data to the .vi but I am not sure how to get data from the .vi to the visual C++ Program.

Any tips/references appreciated.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,858 Views)

First thing I'd do is look inside those VIs and see if they call a DLL - if they do, just call the DLL directly and skip LabVIEW.