LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Event structure for temperature conversion

Hello NI Labview community,

I'm new to Labview, and I'm trying to use an event structure (I'm aware of the case structure but I want to learn it, by using an event structure) to convert a temperature of unit degrees celsius to either kelvin or fahrenheit.

My obective is, that when the button is toggled upwards, i want to convert the temperature Fahrenheit, and when it is toggled down, to Kelvin (As shown in the first picture). 

I've succeeded in converting the temperature to Fahrenheit by detecting change in the value of the input temperature.

But I'm struggling with converting the temperature by toggling the button up or down by using the event structure. The code I've written in picture 2 and 3 changes the temperature to Fahrenheit ONCE, no matter how many times I i toggle it up or down while the code is running.

And, how can I convert the input temperature to celcius? Labviews doesnt allow me to do it by adding a new event case, as that would require a change in input temperature and toggling the button. But since these 2 variables already are used to convert to fahrenheit, i cant choose them again for a new event case.

I hope you understand my question.
Udklip.PNGUdklip.PNGFP.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,086 Views)

You need a case structure that determines which formula to use to either output Celsius or Fahrenheit.  Right now you have a single formula and you don't do anything with the position of the toggle switch.

Your toggle switch talks about output Kelvin or Fahrenheit.  Nothing in your VI mentions Celsius.

Your input control should be put inside the event structure.  Otherwise if you change the input, it will fire the event, but will be using the value that was read before the code stopped and waited for the value change event.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,081 Views)