LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ethernet/IP devices

Hello, I’m a novice with labview and would benefit greatly with some pointers on how to communicate with Ethernet/IP devices (my particular case  being absolute encoders and inverter drives). I will be using Labview 2019 on a windows 10 pc which will connect directly from it’s Ethernet port, through a network switch then to the drives and encoders using 2 pair Ethernet/ip cable (not standard 4 pair cat5 cable). The devices vendors do supply an EDS file for their products (for relatively easy configuration with typical PLC’s like Rockwell etc) but my limited understanding so far is that Labview doesnt utilise this type of file (??). So how do I communicate and control them.... I am of the understanding that the company I work for have the necessary add-on Ethernet/IP communications package although as yet I don’t understand how this software functions. 

What information within the devices’ ethernet/ip manuals is essential to know for labview to read and write data, and are there any VI examples available to download to give me a fighting chance of controlling these devices? 

Many thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(4,809 Views)

Hi udtwmc1

Usually Instrument Manufacturer's will provide instrument Library Functions for the respective devices.

When you don't have such instrument library you can develop the one using the Remote Command sets for the Specific devices which you will be Sending based on the Device IP Address and Port Number.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Palanivel Thiruvenkadam | பழனிவேல் திருவெங்கடம்
LabVIEW™ Champion |Certified LabVIEW™ Architect |Certified TestStand Developer

Kidlin's Law -If you can write the problem down clearly then the matter is half solved.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------