From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error 56 at read holding registers

Hello everyone,

We have a E5DC Omron temperature controller that uses Modbus protocol.

I have labview 2014 and used VIPM to download the modbus library.

I need to do 3 things with this temperature controller :

1. Set the SP value

2. Set the ramp

3. Read the temperature

I want to start with the 3rd point. I'm totally new to Modbus and I've read the intro to Modbus on NI and watched some videos.

I created a master instance and entered the parameters corresponding to the controller.

I'm getting ERROR 56 at the read holding register and I don't get why.

For the input 0 is the 4-byte mode address (see below) and 1 is the number of holding registers, and then I want to display the T° value on a graph.

Here's the code and the highlight with the error.

ailita_0-1601298696351.pngailita_1-1601298732463.png

Thank you in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,285 Views)

First thought.  Are you sure you are using the correct slave address?  It looks like you are trying to talk to slave 1.  Is that how the device is set?

Are you sure your serial parameters are correct?  You are set for 9600 baud, no parity, no flow control.

What number of stop bits are you using?  The purple modbus libraries don't seem to have a setting for number of stop bits.  I don't know if it has a built-in assumption, or just grabs what ever value is assigned in MAX or the device manager.