LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Edit data in XML

There are a few section in a XML file that I would like to edit through my labview program.  Is there an easy way to do this? 

------------------------------------------------------------------

Kudos and Accepted as Solution are welcome!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(5,293 Views)

Manipulating XML in LabVIEW is my least favorite thing. I have never used JKI's EasyXML so I don't know if it would work.

I typically use a regular expression for that.

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

Message 2 of 12
(5,290 Views)

Can you give me an example of doing this with regular expression?  This is my first time messing with xml.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(5,284 Views)

If it is a simple operation I sometimes use something like the code below. It isn't very robust. For example it will mess up your XML if you specify a non-existant element but that can be fixed by checking if the offset past match is -1. If you have a more complex nested structure with multiple elements of the same name then it is best to use the XML parser. It's kind of a pain. You have to remember to close a bunch of references and the diagram can get large. There are examples that ship with LabVIEW and I always have to refer to them.

The next time I find that I am needing to use the LabVIEW XML parser I will probably check into EasyXML.

Example_VI.png

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

Message 4 of 12
(5,277 Views)

Do you read/write from/to an xml in string?  If so, what node is good for such operation?  Is there a risk of corrupting the file?  Is a xml just a pure text file?  

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 12
(5,270 Views)

There are read and write xml VIs in LabVIEW. But, you should just be able to use read text file and it will read the whole file into a string.

Message 6 of 12
(5,264 Views)