LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dump data from xy graph on the hour

Hi all,

I have been cobbling together the attached vi in order to track power consumption of some instruments (replaced by the RNG in the attached) that plot 2 values in real time on the same graph. I would like to run this vi indefinitely so the use can be tracked by eye (which works fine here) but I also need the data to save at regular intervals. I can right-click the graph and copy to excel no problems but I need this done automatically, ideally every hour and create a spreadsheet with 3 columns, absolute time, value 1, value 2 with the file name time-stamped.

There are numerous topics on this board that have all different ways to do almost what I need, but I'm fairly new to labview so could do with some pointers making it all fit.

Thanks in advance for any help.

LV-2017
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,477 Views)

Hi Potticary,

There are numerous topics on this board that have all different ways to do almost what I need, but I'm fairly new to labview so could do with some pointers making it all fit.

So you got already "numerous topics with all different ways", but you still need more "pointers to make it fit"?

What have you tried and where are you stuck?

Hint:

You already collected the samples in arrays.

All you need to do is save those arrays to a file. I recommend the WriteSpreadsheetFile function…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,462 Views)

So you got already "numerous topics with all different ways", but you still need more "pointers to make it fit"? 

I mean, I have labview and context help, so technically I already have the tools I need right? Why does anyone post?