LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delay in write in Arduino?

Hello all,

I am pretty new to labVIEW. I am using LINX toolkit to program Arduino.

I am using Arduino to create some controlling signals. However the output signal read from the Arduino seems to be delayed. I made a test program as below that just reads a clk and writes it in another pin but the written signal is delayed when I check it with scope, and not at all like the read signal.

mg7077_0-1682372049439.png

Is there any mistake I am making?

PS:

Signal read(clk, ~100kHz):

Image.jpeg

Signal Write:

Image1.jpeg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(1,405 Views)

I haven't used LINX myself, but it looks like you're trying to read and update a 100kHz clock, is that right? If so it'll never get there. The LINX toolkit loads some code on the Arduino that lets it read and write values to the board. It communicates back and forth to the LabVIEW computer. I'm not sure what kind of loop rate you can get with this setup but it's likely to be 1 kHz at best. Maybe things are much faster but it's definitely not going to hit 100 kHz.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(1,392 Views)

I would have to concur with Bert, LINX is slow compared to native Arduino code.

It has been a while but I think there is a VI in LINX that reports the loop rate. 

I was astonished how slow basic LINX code ran, I believe it was in the 100Hz range.

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(1,341 Views)

The fastest transition in your scope capture looks like about 10 ms, which agrees with RTSLVU's thought it's in the 100 Hz range.

Your Arduino loop is probably pretty repeatable, so if it's running at 100 Hz, and your clock is running at 100 kHz, then missing 4-5 clock signals makes sense. Basically you're happening to read the input signal every time it's high.