LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Declaring variables in LabVIEW

Hello everyone, 

Could someone please help me with this LabVIEW program? I admit that I am new to the program, but I have been seeking for help online also. I don't think there is a direct answer to my problem, and I'm not here for answers. Any advice and tips would be greatly appreciated. 

About the program: 

My sub panel is an x-y platform where a mouse cursor navigates about. I have three different cases:

0: Do nothing 

1: Update mouse coordinates (x & y coordinates are displayed in boxes titled "Local Mouse Coord")

2: Display absolute position (x & y coordinates are displayed in boxes titled "Encoder counts")

My program currently works so that the mouse coordinates (in pixels) are updated and displayed when the cursor is within and beyond the sub panel's bounds. My goal is to only have everything be updated ONLY when the cursor is within the sub panel's bounds. 

Below are screenshots of my current sub panel and block diagram.

Sub Panel

Screen Shot 2012-08-30 at 8.48.20 PM.png

Furthermore, my solution to my goal is to use a not function connected prior to the three different cases. The following are the four coordinates to my sub panel's corners (bounds): 

(20,20) - Top left

(342,20) - Top right

(20,342) - Bottom left

(342,342) - Bottom right

Given these coordinates, I came up with piecewise definitions of when the coordinates need to be displayed and updated: 

20 < x < 342 && 20<y<342

Below is a screenshot of a diagram of what I would need to do in LabVIEW. However, in order to do so, I realize that I need to: 

1) Declare variables x & y

2) Tie both x & y together (i.e. a case is executed if and only if x and y are true) 

Not Function.jpeg

Will someone kindly please help me? Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(4,191 Views)

Use the mouse move event for subpanel

Message 2 of 18
(4,186 Views)