LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data logging to csv file

I am new to Labview and trying to help out with a project.  One of the objectives is to take around 20 to 25 channels, some of which are displayed on various gages on the Labview front panel screen, as well as other which are are arrays of values that are not displayed and log them to a csv file for later analysis with Excel.  I've played around with the Write to Measurement File.vi (both tdms and lvm formats) but it didn't put the variables in an easy-to-use format to use in excel.  The tdms format worked OK with a single variable, but when I tried to make it work with more than one variable, it arranged them in a single column and lost the timestamps.  I've also been playing around with Write to Spreadsheet File.vi, which appears to be better for what I need, but it's still taking a lot more effort than I would have imagined, and I'm unable to figure out how to add the header row, or add timestamps at the beginning of each row, or have a good way to overwrite the file, because it just keeps appending to it.  When I set it up to overwrite the file, it overwrote the file with each row of data it sent to it.  It also insists on using tabs as delimiters even though I've changed it to a comma in the delimiter field.

There are a number of loops in the program because it's consolidating data from several CAN buses along with analog data.  We just want to take one second slices and arrange them like this:

TimeStamp, RPM,  Temp1,  Temp2, Pressure1,  Pressure2,....

2011-09-15 10:11:00, 2390, 74.3, 77.9, 25.1, 33.2, ......

2011-09-15 10:11:01, 2385, 74.6, 78.1, 25.0, 33.1, ......

I wrote a C program to do this prior to using Labview and it was quite simple and took virtually no time but, perhaps due to my lack of LV experience, I'm not finding an easy way to do it in Labview.